Contact us

X

Fraud Alert: Due to 31 years of Successfully defending DUI cases, a number of firms have impersonated to be of the Law Firm of Richard S. Humphrey. Please ensure you hire the correct attorney by calling our Hotline: 401.624.6152

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We are ALWAYS available to take your call 401.624.6152

Make Us your first phone call if you need help Any time of the day or night

Call usOffice: 401.624.6152
Cell: 401.641.9187

DUI and OUI Defense

Relentless Tiverton trial lawyers guiding you through the DUI process

The Law Offices of Richard S. Humphrey are knowledgeable about the complexities of Rhode Island DUI (driving under the influence of alcohol and drugs) laws and understand how a DUI charge can have a big impact on your life whether you are a first- or third-time offender.  A DUI conviction can compromise your reputation, driving privileges, and career.

The Rhode Island DUI laws are designed to protect those on the road.  The penalties for drunk driving are based on the amount of alcohol in a person's system and on any prior DUI arrests and charges.  Any Rhode Island driver under or over the age of 21 can be convicted of driving under the influence, if—

  • You have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of .08% or greater
  • You are under the age of 21 and have a BAC level between .02% and .08%
  • You are impaired in any way by a substance
  • There is any presence in your body of an illegal drug like marijuana, barbiturates, or cocaine

Our attorneys are ready to counsel you on your legal options, prepare a strong defense, navigate you through the DUI process, or help with other important legal issues:

Make us your first call if you or a loved one faces a DUI charge in RI

When you are pulled over or arrested for drunk driving in Rhode Island, it is never a good time.  The Law Offices of Richard S. Humphrey is available 24/7 if you or anyone in your family needs help.  We regularly assist college students facing drunk driving charges.  When you or a loved one needs help, contact us immediately so we can start to protect your rights and interests.  We are located in Tiverton.


First-time offender of Rhode Island DUI laws

As a first-time offender with a BAC above .08%, you will face several Rhode Island DUI penalties:

  • Misdemeanor charge
  • Up to one year in prison
  • A fine from $100 to $500
  • $500 highway safety assessment
  • 10 to 60 hours of community service
  • License suspension from 30 days to 18 months
  • Court costs
  • Enrollment in DUI course or drug/alcohol treatment

Back to top


Second-time offender of Rhode Island DUI laws

A second-time offender faces stricter punishment.  To be labeled as a second-time offender, the individual will have had one previous conviction of DUI within the last five years—Rhode Island's look-back period.

A second-time offender with a BAC above .08% will face the following penalties:

  • Misdemeanor charge
  • Jail term from 10 days to one year
  • $400 fine
  • $500 highway safety assessment
  • License suspension from three months to two years
  • Mandatory ignition interlock system from one to two years
  • Alcohol or drug treatment

Back to top