Second DUI In Rhode Island
Rhode Island has a comparatively short “look-back period” for DUI sentencing. The court only considers DUI convictions that have occurred within the last five years when passing sentence on a defendant. The look-back period may be brief, but the penalties for a second DUI are significant. A Tiverton DUI lawyer can help you avoid these penalties.
- Confinement — A second DUI conviction means a jail sentence of 10 days to one year. At least 48 hours must be served consecutively, and that minimum term may apply even if you receive probation. An offender may be eligible for weekends or work release or house arrest for the remainder of any jail sentence.
- Fine — The court imposes a $400 fine. Bear in mind that this figure does not include ancillary costs. You have to pay several hundred dollars in court costs, several hundred dollars in legal fees and several hundred dollars for possible alcohol treatment programs, ignition interlock devices or other court-imposed sanctions. The costs add up quickly.
- Driver’s license — Your license may be suspended for up to two years. Even if you are allowed to drive at all during that period, the judge will almost certainly require an ignition interlock device.
If an experienced Tiverton DUI lawyer can put reasonable doubt in the mind of at least one juror regarding even one element of the offense, the government prosecutor cannot convict you. Because the penalties for a second DUI are very harsh, you should contact an attorney immediately.
Since 1985, Richard Humphrey and his legal team have been defending the rights of DUI defendants in Massachusetts and Rhode Island courts. His extensive experience and solid commitment are the best protections against DUI penalties. Contact The Law Offices of Richard S. Humphrey to schedule your free consultation. An attorney is available 24/7 to answer your questions.